Obtain a Marriage License

Marriage Picture

Marriage is a commitment. One's promise to another that you will be there and always care totally for each other.

 

 

 Who Must Apply

 

​18 years of age for male and female.

16 or 17 years of age with the approval of a Judge of the Orphans' Court, as well as consent from parent or custodial guardian.

 

 Who May Not Marry

 

​Blood relatives down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of Pennsylvania.

For other prohibitions, check with the Clerk of Orphans' Court at 724-770-4550

 

 When to Apply

 

​Minimum of three business days and/or up to a maximum of 60 days prior to the marriage ceremony.

There is a three (business) day waiting period for issuance of the actual license.

 

 Hours to Apply

 

​Please see below: Courthouse hours during which you are able to apply for a marriage license. Please allow approximately a half hour to complete the application process.

Monday
8:30am - 4:00pm

Tuesday
8:30am - 4:00pm

Wednesday
8:30am - 4:00pm

Thursday
8:30am - 4:00pm

Friday
8:30am - 4:00pm

Saturday
Closed

Sunday
Closed

 

 Where to Apply

 

​Office of the Clerk of Orphans' Court of any County of Pennsylvania. Beaver County Courthouse

 

 What is Required

 
  • ​Both applicants must be present to apply.
  • Minors must have a Birth Certificate and a Consenter must be present.
  • Social Security Numbers are REQUIRED at the time of application.
  • Drivers license or Photo ID for applicants
  • Visas are required for citizens of another country
  • Applicants who have been previously married must provide the following information concerning the latest dissolution of prior marriages:
    • Divorces - In the case of a divorce, a certified divorce decree(s) must be presented which states:
      • Month, day and year of final decree.
      • County and state where granted.
      • Female (if last name differs from decree) must provide documents from Court of name change.
      • Foreign divorces require a certified English translation
    • Annulments - A certified copy of the annulment document is required which must include the same information as stated above for divorce.
    • Widowed - The date of death of the deceased spouse is necessary
 

 Fees

 

​The fee for the marriage license from Beaver County is $65.00 cash. No Checks or Credit Cards.

For an additional $6.00 we will automatically send a certified copy of marriage to you after we receive confirmation of your marriage.

Fees vary from county to county. Please call the county in which you will be applying for their fees and other requirements.

 

 Out-Of-State Marriages

 

If the marriage of a Pennsylvania resident is to take place in another state or United States territory, the marriage requirements for that state or territory apply to both parties.

A license obtained in Pennsylvania may only be used in this state. The applicant may apply in any county and be married in any other county. (Such as applying here in Beaver County and being married in Philadelphia.).

To obtain specific information on the out-of-state requirements, which often differ from those of Pennsylvania, contact the Bureau of Laboratories at 215-363-8500 or the state or territory where the ceremony is to be performed.

 

 Marriage License Duplicates

 

Our marriage records are from 1886 to the present.

To request a copy of an old marriage license, you must know the date of the marriage and the name of the female applicant (Maiden Name) and the male applicant. If the exact marriage date is unknown, we will only research a maximum of a 5-year span that you specify. For Genealogy purposes there is a $5.00 research fee per marriage. A check or money order should be made payable to “Register of Wills”. Please enclose a Self-Addressed Stamped Envelope with each request. If you include an email address with your request, we will notify you of the research results and additional charges for copies.

The cost to obtain a copy of an old marriage license is $1.00. If you need a certified copy, the cost is $5.00. Make the check or money order payable to the Register of Wills. Don't forget to include an additional check to cover research fees ($5.00 per marriage).

To request a copy of your marriage license for the purpose of name change or Social Security, etc., we need the date of the marriage, your name and your spouse's name as they appeared on the marriage license. Please make sure that you applied for a marriage license in BEAVER COUNTY as the records exist only in the county in which you applied. The fee for a certified copy of the marriage license is $5.00. If you are making the request by mail, also include a self-addressed stamped envelope with your request.

If you are planning a visit to the Beaver County Courthouse to retrieve this information, you may call ahead with all this information and we will have the copy ready for you when you come in.

 

 Tax Record Questions

 

​For individuals who recently had a name change due to marriage, and need information regarding changes in their tax records, please contact the Assessment / Tax Claim office at 724-770-4471.